Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Games stuttering and losing frames.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

AnalogPowerButton

So I am fairly new in the realm of emulation and I already had a decent ammount of GC/ Wii games at my disposal. I have recently built my PC and I am fairly new to the technical parts of that too. I have attempted to try and get one game in particular running, Metroid Prime 1 (though I haven't tried any others at the settings I have) and I have found that even at the beginning of the game I was getting a ton of frame loss and the audio was stuttering terribly.

I have tried lowering the settings to a reasonable standard and even turned off all the graphical upgrades that I thought were causing the issue and was still having issues. I am completely stumped and I REALLY would like to be able to enjoy my games as fast as I can but I've hit a brick wall and I need help.
PC specs:
CPU- AMD FX-8350
GPU- XFX R7 250
RAM- Corsair 8GB DDR3

If you have any advice or suggestions please don't hesitate to tell me.
First off, you need to understand that AMD CPUs have low single-core speeds compared to Intel CPUs. Metroid Prime is one of the most demanding games. You probably can't reach fullspeed, but you can probably get close.

Use the latest dev builds from here https://dolphin-emu.org/download/ It's faster than the stable builds.

If that doesn't help enough, overclock your CPU. Its free performance
Metroid Prime is a fairly demanding game. In addition, you're using an outdated Dolphin build that's incredibly slower than the latest development revisions. Although 4.0, 4.0.1, and 4.0.2 are the stable builds, Dolphin has gotten significantly faster (~26 in the past month alone!) since 4.0. My advice: update to the latest development builds (4.0-3151 as of this writing); it's a free speed-up.