Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Help optimizing Legacy PC - actual perf. 90%
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi everyone,

Im new to dolphin. So, im trying to play Zelda - Twilight Princess (from gamecube). Im getting, 30 fps and an average of 90% (sometimes drops to 80% or goes up to 100%). I would like to know if I change my Videocard would I secure a 100% performance or is my CPU bottlenecking or something, my performance? Im using Dolphin 4.0.2 stable with direct3D 9.0. I used the benchmark I found on this forums and my total time was: 19:05 minutes.

Considering:
I got both, cpu and videocards crappy (but is easier to change the videocard).
I run a lot of games I like just fine with this PC (f.e.: dota2, starcraft 2, need for speed, civilization V, etc.)

If I get a Nvidia GTX460 (for example), will I get a boost in performance or is my CPU slowing down dolphin?

My system specifications:
Core 2 duo 3.0ghz e8400 (stock)
6gb ram ddr2 dual channel
nvidia gt610 1gb

Thank you very much.
It depends. If you set your graphical settings too high (like Internal Resolution and Anti-Aliasing), your GPU will eventually become the bottleneck. If you're playing with settings your GPU can handle (like 1x IR and no AA) then you have a CPU bottleneck most likely. Dolphin relies a lot on the CPU for its performance, so usually people tend to upgrade this rather than GPUs. In general, most people associate CPU upgrades with "raw" Dolphin performance, while GPU upgrades tend to be viewed as letting you increase the amount of graphical enhancements you can add.