Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: [GC} Widescreen settings for various games? (not stretched)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I know not all games are capable of doing this, but I did see that there a few games, with the right settings. will run in a widescreen ratio with out major distortion. I'm not talking about stretching the image, but letting it render natively in a wide screen ratio.

The games I was hoping most to do this with were:
Zelda Wind Waker
Zelda Skyward Sword
Super Mario Sunshine
Paper Mario Thousand Year Door
Luigi's Mansion
Metroid Prime 1 & 2
Star Fox Adventures
(Tho I am unsure if all of them are capable of what I am talking about)

Could some one tell me how to set up the settings for these games to run this way?

I am a bit of a noob about this, I read about something called "Swiss-GC" and booting with that, but I don't quite understand.
Open the graphics settings and under the advanced tab, you will find the widescreen hack check box. It works better in some games than others. I tried Mario Kart with it recently and it worked pretty well.
(07-06-2014, 04:07 PM)artantaaa Wrote: [ -> ]Open the graphics settings and under the advanced tab, you will find the widescreen hack check box. It works better in some games than others. I tried Mario Kart with it recently and it worked pretty well.

I have, and it leads to stretching of the image. Or in the case of mario sunshine, creates really bad heat wave effect distortion.
I have found some AR 16:9 aspect ratio codes, which seem to help when used in conjunction with the widescreen hack, it helps but I've still seen people run these games in widescreen with a much nicer picture. I just dont know how they do it.
(07-06-2014, 04:17 PM)Edwii Wrote: [ -> ]