Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Problems with dolphin framerate (looking for full smooth)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
After many tests I think what is causing my unstable framerate is the frame limiter.

I've been using dolphin for several years. Each version it get to have a higher raw performance, but the homogeneity of the framerate is getting worse.

The framerate remains constant 60 fps for several seconds, then falls to 58.9 or a different number without apparent cause, then goes back up to 60 and so continuously. The result is that games do not feel as fluid as when they are played on the actual console, where the motion is constantly fluid.

I tried in 3 different setups, with different gpu brands and cpus. A lot of different drivers revisions. In both OpenGL and D3D11 renderer. Enabling/Disabling dual-core check and every other available option into the emulator and my computer.

For a few moments, I've achieved perfect smooth performance limiting framerate using external applications like RTSS while disabling internal dolphin frame-limiter, but after a while, the sound or/and the gameplay goes absurdly accelerated (while screen framerate is still 60 fps).

Using Frame-limiter = 60/Audio/Auto affects the regularity where the framerate go out of sync, but none of them fix it completely.

Obviously, I'm not talking about a problem of raw performance. I'm using games where framerate can be mantained over 100 without problems.

In one side, using internal dolphin vsync or gpu driver level vsync should allow that Frame-limiter = off will be an option. But dolphin accelerates sound and gameplay no matter the framerate is actually locked at 60 fps if the internal framerate limiter is disabled.

In the other, the internal limiter, should not have these sync problems where regularly loses frames.