Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Graphics settings don't seem to be working?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

TalOrtRal

I must admit I'm a complete noob to Dolphin at the moment.

I'm running 4.0.2 in Windows 7 64-bit on an i7.

So far, no trouble getting games to run smoothly at default resolutions with only a few graphical glitches, which is really impressive. My only issue is that I'd like to mess around a bit with internal resolution and AA. My understanding is that you can mess with these settings and increase resolution and AA until you're getting FPS too low to be playable, then you can ratchet it back.

When I change resolution and AA in graphics settings, I see absolutely no change in the appearance of the game or in FPS performance, even if I turn both all the way up. This leads me to believe that I'm doing something wrong and somehow the graphics changes are not being applied. I restarted Dolphin and the settings are still showing how I set them, but still no result in-game.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
Post your graphics settings as screenshots, and post a screenshot of a game so we can see what it looks like on your end.

Make sure you're not doing something silly too, like using a fullscreen resolution of 640x480 or something while playing in fullscreen mode.

TalOrtRal

Attached are my settings before (Settings 1 and 2) and after (Settings 3). I didn't attach the resulting screens because 700kb is over the attachment limit? What do you guys use to post screens?

After comparing the screens back to back, I can see a VERY slight different in clarity in Eternal Darkness, but I would think going from resolution x1 and no AA to resolution x4 with 16 AA, the difference would be bigger. Also, FPS never dips below 60, which seems strange for maxing out everything.
I bet you have RealXFB on in the hacks section; that would cause this.