Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Sound issues - Is my PC build okay? Are there AMD specific settings or builds?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello everyone,

I am new to Dolphin, but I love its potential. I have a library of GameCube games that I am excited to play in high resolution. I played through the first level of Metroid Prime at around 60FPS with occasional slowdowns, but I did have issues with the sound stuttering during some of the more chaotic moments. On level 2 I noticed my FPS jumping from 60 to 20...possibly due to the rain effects? I also tried playing TransWorld Surf: Next Wave and had the same sound issues and lots of freezing and some slowdown...maybe this is due to it being a less optimized game? What I want to know is:

Is my build going to be okay for Dolphin?
Are the requirements to emulate GameCube vs Wii games different?
I have an AMD CPU, should I use specific settings, or maybe a certain version of Dolphin?

Here are my PC specs:

Motherboard: Asus Crosshair Formula IV
CPU: 3.2 Ghz AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black edition (coolermaster heatsink)
RAM: 16GB of Gskills ripjaw 1600MHZ 4x4GB
Video Card: Saphire HD 6870 with eyefinity and HDMI output

TL;DR
Is my PC capable of running Dolphin efficiently? Are there AMD specific settings or builds?
Hi there welcome, I can tell you that the rain drops on the visor is a known issue that causes slowdown, it has happened to me. However, upon testing this game on the stable build 4.0.2, I did notice that the slowdown went away and maintained constant speed. Also I do get a few frame drops when alot is happening on screen, but not much so I am suspecting it is a hardware limit.As for the other game I couldn't tell you as I do not have this game. You may want to post your settings for Metroid Prime to see what you have.