Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: VAIO Flip 15A vs Razer Edge Pro
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hi all,

I originally was looking for a tablet that could run dolphin games at full (or at least playable) speed and I had ran across the Razer Edge Pro. I've been eyeing this tablet for a few months now, hesitant to purchase because of the price tag. Here are the specs:

Processor Intel Core i7 Dual core w/ Hyper Threading
Base 1.9GHz / Turbo 3.0GHz

Memory 8GB DDR3 (2x4GB 1600MHz)
Video Intel HD4000 (DX11)
NVIDIA GT 640M LE (2GB DDR3, Optimus Technology)
Display 10.1” (IPS, 1366x768)
Multi-touch HD display

I linked to the website as well above in case I'm missing any important specs. Now from browsing these forums, I know that "U" intel processors aren't the best way to go with Dolphin in terms of speed and performance. However, there is a youtube video showing how the razer edge pro handles the dolphin emulator HERE.

Now for a "U" intel processor, the Edge Pro is handling those Wii games pretty well. Earlier this week I discovered 2 in 1 laptops and thought, "Hey, I wonder if I can get a gaming 2 in 1 laptop that can run dolphin games at a playable speed?" I came across the Flip 15A. I fell in love with the laptop, looking at it online almost every day until I came across these forums saying that it would struggle with Dolphin. But the Edge Pro seems to have no problem playing Dolphin just fine. Can someone tell me between the these two machines, which one would fair better with Dolphin? The test games I would use are SSBB, Mario Party 7 and 8, Mario Kart Wii, and Sonic Colors.

Here are specs of the VAIO Flip 15A:

Processor
Processor Type : Intel® Core™ i7-4500U
Processor Cache : 4MB
Processor Speed : 1.80GHz1 with Intel® Turbo Boost Technology up to 3.00GHz2
Processor Technology : Dual Core

Display