Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Questions about PC building for Dolphin
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

ZoneMenu

I'm trying to build a system, on a limited budget, that will do anything I need it too, including PC gaming and emulating. As such I've been trying to balance out my parts to make a well rounded PC, but I'm still new at this.

My parts list so far is:
Intel i5-4670k 3.4 GHz
Kingston HyperX blu 4GB (planning to add a second module later, for non-Dolphin purposes)
EVGA GTX 650 Ti Boost Superclocked 2GB
Western Digital Black 1TB Hard Drive
Asus Z87-K Motherboard

From what I can tell this is pretty alright for at least running Dolphin, but I've got a couple of questions. For one the most interesting thing about emulating is being able to up the IR and using Antialiasing filters and HD texture packs. So I'd like to know if my build can handle at least 1080 resolution in the games in my list below... and my second question is, if I don't intend to overclock very much, is it still worth getting the 4670k and the Z87 motherboard? Because if I can run my games fine with the cheaper non-overclocking parts it would be fine.

The Gamecube games I am interested in are:
Pokemon Colosseum
Pokemon XD
Wario World
Super Mario Sunshine
Paper Mario the Thousand Year Door
F-Zero GX
Twilight Princess

As for Wii games, the only game that's really interesting me is The Last Story. But only if I can emulate it at a decent framerate, and even then I don't own a copy to rip yet.

Mainly, I just hate the way the Gamecube looks on a modern TV and want to make it look even better. If anyone can answer my questions or give me some advice, I'd appreciate it.