Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Can't get it to run games fast enough.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

RADcookie

I am very disappointed. I tried Conduit 2 and Rayman Origins and can't get either to run as fast as on the Wii. Conduit is basically unplayable, and Rayman is like at 1/2 speed. It seems like the emulator does not do a good job of maximizing the use of multi-core processors. I am new to this whole thing and have not overclocked anything on my system. Win 7 x64 on AMD FX8150 3.6 Ghz 8 core with 4x 4Gb of Patriot DDR3 RAM and a GTX 760 GPU. Any ideas? Seems like I need a massive speedup and don't see where the bottle neck is. System works great on Battlefield 3, etc. I understand emulation is a totally different animal, but thought I would have better luck than this. Are any significant changes/revisions in store that will improve this for me?
' Wrote:It seems like the emulator does not do a good job of maximizing the use of multi-core processors.

That's because the process of emulating the GC/Wii is not easily broken up into many major threads. Dolphin will at most use 3 major threads to do a significant portion of its processing, one thread to emulate each of the following GC/Wii components: CPU, GPU, and DSP. Normally, unless you select DSP on Dedicated thread, Dolphin will not use another thread to emulate the DSP, so with its default settings, it's a dual-core application. DSP on Dedicated thread is only recommended for LLE audio, so just ignore it for now since you're interested in speed (which is what HLE audio is for, and it doesn't really benefit from DSP on Dedicated Thread.