Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Don't understand, is it good enough or not?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2

Axetwin

Hi, I'm going to just jump right in here.

A couple days ago I started playing the 64 bit Windows (7) 3.5-367 version of Dolphin. The computer I'm playing on has an AMD FX 8120 8 core 3.1 ghz processor, and a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 video card.

Everything I've read on the forum says I should be able to run the games without any major problems. Some games (like X-Men Legends) is like playing in slow motion from the start. Others (like Wind Waker) start off great but take a big hit to the FPS (Dragon Roost in WW) after a certain point. One curious thing I noticed is the Wii games I've played have run great.

In anycase, the only problem I can think of is possibly my video card. Oh, before I forget, I did switch from HLE to LLE and it didn't really help except I stopped getting black screen freezes in Wind Waker.

So have I been misreading the threads and my computer isn't good enough to run Gamecube games?
Dolphin is a dual core application . AMD FX 8120 has poor single threaded performance (even worse than its predecessor - Phenom II ) . Therefore , most games won't run well on you system
You can overclock to gain more FPS though ...(Recommend : 400MHz OC or higher)
i5 4670k is the recommended CPU for Dolphin atm
Dolphin CPU Benchmark
Keep in mind that Dolphin becomes more demanding over time and 3.5 - 367 is not official release nor latest release . You should download Dolphin from our official site . Dolphin 3.5 Stable is our official release and it's less demanding than 3.5 367

Axetwin

(09-08-2013, 10:08 PM)admin89 Wrote: [ -> ]Dolphin is a dual core application . AMD FX 8120 has poor single threaded performance (even worse than its predecessor - Phenom II ) . Therefore , most games won't run well on you system