Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Overclocking for a total noob?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Where do I start? Huh

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/jonathantrillo/saved/27sB

Looking to get as much out of it as I can, also since installing, I've never ran the CPU at full load or anything more than 50c.
JT! Wrote:Where do I start?

Google.

I know I must sound like an ass saying that. But none of the answers you will receive here could come close to the level of detail that the countless haswell overclocking guides across the web already have.

The gist of it is:
1. Turn off turboboost
2. Set voltages to manual
3. Raise the core multiplier to get the core clock rate to 4.2GHz or 4.3GHz
4. Look up safe voltages to use on the web and set them
5. Test temperatures
6. Do stress testing

The first 4 steps are done through the UEFI setup.
Looks like I've got some reading to do...
@natural
nice list Smile
(08-17-2013, 06:51 PM)JT! Wrote: [ -> ]Looks like I've got some reading to do...
get this here for stress testing Smile

http://www.chip.de/downloads/Prime95_15729123.html

prime95 one of the best for stress testing

and this here for the temps:

http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/
First thing I did was hit the OC genie button, that automatically put my clock speed to 4.0GHz with no problems.

So I went back and turned that off and from what I read I set the voltage to 1.2 and the multiplier to 46 to see if it would even boot. It didn't. In fact, I could barely get back into the bios to turn it back to normal. Most of the attempts I got stuck at clicking on the OC tab in the bios, it would load two lines then freeze up. Luckily I thought about clicking on the OC genie button, which worked and set everything back to a bootable state.

So then I tried 4.4ghz and that didn't work either.