Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Just Getting Started - Which OS & Hardware
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

mcaskey

I'm just getting started with this. Love that I can play my old Wii games in high resolution! I'll be selling my Wii and playing my backups on some fresh hardware.

First, which OS runs Dolphin best? Windows, Linux, or OSX? I'm currently on a Macbook Pro, which runs Dolphin very nicely, but I don't want to have to hook up my laptop every time the kids want to play Wii.

Second, which hardware are you having the best performance with these days? Is there a sweet spot in terms of price+performance=value?

Thanks!
Windows and Linux both run Dolphin just fine in my experience. Windows has DX9 and DX11 backends, which may be useful to some users (speed mostly with DX9). Depending on the drivers and hardware though, DX9 performance on Windows should be more or less on par with OpenGL performance on Linux. AMD drivers are getting better, but Nvidia's still seem to have an edge in reliability. For Linux proprietary drivers are a must. Most people stick to Windows because it's easy and they get fewer hassles and headaches.

Unless you're a day-to-day Linux user and you don't dual boot into Windows often, just use Windows. There's no need to force oneself to use an unfamiliar OS, at least not for Dolphin's sake. I'm comfortable with Linux, so it's right for me. The "best" OS is one that fits your needs, and for a majority of people, this means Windows. Unless you have reason to believe otherwise, stick with it.