Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Do I need to overclock to run Xenoblade perfectly?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I've spent the last few days refining my settings but I'm running out of options. I've eliminated most sound errors and crashing, but I hear a little static from the back ground which might turn into crackles depending on the error after an hour so. My specs are as follows;

GIGABYTE GV-N66TWF2-2GD GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
Intel Core i7-3770 Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.9GHz Turbo)
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
Windows 7 16 GB RAM
Dolphin 3.5.1531

So my question is, should I activate my Turbo hopping that it's enough to eliminate the errors or should I overclock it? I know a 3770 isn't made for overclocking, so if I need to push it to 4.5 GHz+, I probably won't. It's my first time using Dolphin, so most of what I've gone on for setting is reading tips and options that might solve the problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I drop to 26 frames once every 20 or 30 minutes, the rest of the time I am at 30-31. I'm playing the US version if that helps at all.

I guess my main question is, is the sound messing up every once in awhile because of my computer hardware or because my settings are not optimal? For further reference, I'm using the HD texture pack, have sound skipping enabled, running Vbeam, and everything else is stock.
Your current CPU should have enough power to emulate Xenoblade full speed without overclocking
Try Set Framelimit = 30 and tick "Limit by FPS" , right-click the game - properties - Tick "Vbeam Speed Hack" (and untick "Idle Skipping" to avoid audio stuttering )
Quote:is the sound messing up every once in awhile because of my computer hardware or because my settings are not optimal?