Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Total Noob can I play gamecube and wii games with my computer specs?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

kevsmith

I've never tried running emulators before but thought I would give it a go as I miss playing double dash!

My pc seems to run pc games on high with decent results but when I tried installing dolphin everything was laggy and unplayable.

My specs are:
AMD Phenom II x6 109oT 3.20 GHz
12.0 GB Ram
Geforce GTX 660
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

I tried a few gamescube and wii games with the default setting and then other setting but even when it said it was running or 30 or 60 fps it still seemed slow and full of lag.

Please would anybody be able to tell me if my computer should be able to run gamecube and wii games at a decent speed and if so why it's slow for me at the minute?

Thank you for any help.
What games do you plan on playing? We can't tell you how well you'll do, as there's a huge range in processing requirements between different games.

That said, you should get reasonable performance in light to medium games with that CPU, as long as your settings are correct, and you should be able to use at least 4x IR (although potentially less in very graphically demanding games) with that GPU
The 1090T is usually good for overclocking around 4.0Ghz, which should make most games playable.
As for the GTX660, it should perform very well, I have it myself and coupled with an overclocked i5 it does play demanding games like Xenoblade and The Last Story at 4xIR with no issues at all, even with some AA.
(06-15-2013, 11:36 PM)cluthz Wrote: [ -> ]The 1090T is usually good for overclocking around 4.0Ghz, which should make most games playable.

I second this. Depends on which games though

kevsmith

Thank you for the replies.

The games I want to play on gamecube are
Mario kart double dash
Mario sunshine
Wind waker