Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: [SOLVED] Can't Save GC roms, specifically Wind Waker
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

swaggadactyl77

While I play, I save via both the in-game feature and with savestates. Upon exiting and re-booting the rom, the game says the memory card in slot A is blank. Furthermore, when I try to activate a savesate I had ceated previously, it says the savestate does not exist.
I played for a good few hours before this occurred and I'm afraid none of my progress was saved Sad
I am new to emulators and don't know what to do. Does anyone know what is going on? Or where I can find my savestates or memory card data?
Thank you in advance!
Make sure you didn't place the Dolphin folder in a place where you do not have permission to write to (e.g. Program Files). Memory Card data can be found in the User\GC folder, save states are in the User\StateSaves folder (named after the game's ID, e.g. GALE01 for Super Smash Bros NTSC-U).

swaggadactyl77

I have the dolphin folder in WinRAR form as well as extracted into a folder. Those are both located in my "Downloads" folder is under my "Users"folder in my C: drive. Does this make sense?
There is nothing in my SaveStates folder. There is a file called SRAM.raw in my GC folder.
Any ideas?

(03-18-2013, 06:32 AM)Shonumi Wrote: [ -> ]Make sure you didn't place the Dolphin folder in a place where you do not have permission to write to (e.g. Program Files). Memory Card data can be found in the User\GC folder, save states are in the User\StateSaves folder (named after the game's ID, e.g. GALE01 for Super Smash Bros NTSC-U).
Make sure you fully extract the contents of the .7z archive. Do not simply open the .7z file in something like WinRAR or 7-Zip and click on Dolphin to run it. This will cause problems. You said you extracted it to Downloads, but always double-check.