Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Upcoming PC Build - The 7970 - To be or no to be?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
First of all let me say I've lurked these forums for longer than I can remember but never really found the need to comment/post (I almost always find most of my questions answered), but now I'm more than scratching my head over this one.

I'm planning on building a full-AMD rig very soon, I've been using Dolphin for a while now (a couple of years at the least) and was always able to run games relatively well, but alas the time has come for an upgrade. I'm mainly looking for general opinions as well as some anecdotal advice as there is one specific component I'm not entirely sure about. Anyway, here's the build I plan to do very soon:

CPU: AMD FX 8350
Motherboard: Asus M5A78l
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) 1600Mhz DDR3
Graphics Card: Sapphire 7970 Vapor-X GHz Edition

Now this what I'm unsure about: having scoured through the HD7000 DX11 Benchmarks thread (and anything else I ccould find that was HD7000-related) this DX11 Dolphin issue is the only thing giving me second thoughts about this build, even though I know it'll burn through anything else I throw at it (that's including PCSX2, which doesn't have any issues running on 7970's - as far as I'm aware), but after reading the above thread this Dolphin problem really is the only thing stopping me from buying it. if I were to buy a GTX 680 (the near equivalent game performance-wise) I'd be adding an extra £100 (and that's just a stock GTX 680 card, not an OC'd one like the 7970) and not to mention I'd be sacrificing some performance in other areas outside gaming (data mining, bitcoin, and GPGPU programming), where the 7970 is the overall better card (and its cheaper!) so I'm kind of stuck at a crossroads here... :(