Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Disk defrag. Truth or lie
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hello,

What do you guys think of defraging?

I have been using diskeeper, many versions including 12 for many years. In terms of stability, I can't say it has prevented unstability any more than not defragging. This I really think is false.

In terms of actual performance,

If anyone has played San Andreas, they know the loading screen completes at certain points of the image transitions. With no defrag, one of my systems takes 5 intervals. On manual defrag, 2. On auto, between 2 and 3. So there is obviously some improvement.

In terms of everyday usage, I can't tell the difference between on/off. What do you guys think of defrag?
I have a SDD - No defragging for me Tongue
Cool, but ssd isn't excluded according to diskeeper.

One of my systems have blazing fast raid 0. I know it's not the same but my performance doesn't suffer. On the other hand, I have a stable but dead slow hdd, which defragging did nothing. Smile
Thread title: "Disk defrag. Truth or lie"
No clear question or statement. You have to make a statement before you can ask someone whether it's true or false.

Example:
"Does defragging improve performance?"

Checks OP for question or statement*
None to be found other than:
Quote:What do you guys think of defraging?

Poll options: Good, Bad, other
Which have nothing to do with a statement being true/false.

So it seems like you just want to know whether people like defragging? But you haven't given us any cons. And if there are no cons then why are you asking us if we think it's good or not?

The other possibility is that you want to know if a rumor about defragging is true. But you haven't listed any rumors.

I guess I'll just answer "good".

Quote:This I really think is false.