Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: New to all this...how will I fare?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Completely new to the idea of emulators, but I love Nintendo and would love to play Wii, 64, and NES.

I have a home-built system with the following:
Asus P8Z68-V LX mobo
i5 2500K
No GPU
Corsair Vengeance 8GB

This is hooked to a 1080p TV.

Would really like to be able to play NES games, Mario Kart, GoldenEye, and Perfect Dark for 64, and Mario Kart and sports games for Wii.

Will I be okay or will the lack of GPU kill me? I don't really have the budget to be upgrading much right now.

Also, I have no overclocking experience whatsoever, so wouldn't mind avoiding that, but also don't mind learning (before you ask, got the "K" because of a good MicroCenter bundle deal).

Thank you very much for the help and insight!

Best regards.

EDIT: 2500K, NOT 2550K (stupid...)
If you overclock your CPU to 4.4GHz, nearly all games will run most of the time @ fullspeed.

But... the i5-2550k have no iGPU, right? You should really buy a GPU, e.g. the GTX 550 Ti to play your games at FullHD.
(08-23-2012, 07:32 AM)jmp6p Wrote: [ -> ]Completely new to the idea of emulators, but I love Nintendo and would love to play Wii, 64, and NES.

I have a home-built system with the following:
Asus P8Z68-V LX mobo
i5 2550K
No GPU
Corsair Vengeance 8GB

This is hooked to a 1080p TV.

Would really like to be able to play NES games, Mario Kart, GoldenEye, and Perfect Dark for 64, and Mario Kart and sports games for Wii.

Will I be okay or will the lack of GPU kill me? I don't really have the budget to be upgrading much right now.

Also, I have no overclocking experience whatsoever, so wouldn't mind avoiding that, but also don't mind learning (before you ask, got the "K" because of a good MicroCenter bundle deal).

Thank you very much for the help and insight!

Best regards.