Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Which laptop will be better to run dolphin?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

mfg422

Have been searching for a new laptop for a while now and think I've found decent one for a fair price but since I'm still a bit of a noob in terms of dolphin (only played games on brother's laptop), I'm not exactly sure if the specs are decent. Will this laptop at least run gamecube games? I could live without wii ones if they wouldn't run properly.

Update: found another so now I'm not sure which is the better buy (both are around the same price but wont list it) and thanks to werewolfman for replying to my earlier post.

The specs of the first one I found are:

HP Pavillion dv7 notebook
memory type - DDR3
memory size - 6 GB
processor - Intel core i5-460M 2.53 GHz
Hard drive capacity - 640GB
Hard drive speed - 5400 RPM
GPU - ATI Mobility Radeon HD 6370

Specs for the other one:

Acer Aspire Timeline
memory type - DDR3
memory size - 4 GB
processor - Intel Core i5-2450M 2.50GHz
hard drive capacity - 500 GB
hard drive speed - 5400 RPM
GPU - NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M

Thanks for the help!
(06-21-2012, 03:28 PM)mfg422 Wrote: [ -> ]Have been searching for a new laptop for a while now and think I've found decent one for a fair price but since I'm still a bit of a noob in terms of dolphin (only played games on brother's laptop), I'm not exactly sure if the specs are decent. Will this laptop at least run gamecube games? I could live without wii ones if they wouldn't run properly.

Update: found another so now I'm not sure which is the better buy (both are around the same price but wont list it) and thanks to werewolfman for replying to my earlier post.

memory type - DDR3
memory size - 6 GB

Specs for the other one:

Acer Aspire Timeline
memory type - DDR3
memory size - 4 GB

Thanks for the help!

The second one.
Better GPU and CPU.
Plus turbo boost.