Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Games Lagging and fan blowing hard
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

Ray_Slimelight

Hey, I'm very new to Wii emulation in general and I have some concerns about emulating on my PC.

I'm running both Mega Man 9 and 10 on Dolphin and I've noticed that the game kinda lags quite a bit while I play it but sometimes goes to normal speed. While it does so I can notice my graphics cards fan blowing rather hard and loud while doing so. It used to flicker, but I tinkered with external frame buffer to fix that.

I want to be sure that I don't blow up my CPU or ruin my graphics card or anything. So please tell me if my current rig is fine or if I need to upgrade something to play it without fear.

GPU: Nvidia geforce 9500gt
Processor: AMD Athlon™ II X2 235e Processor 2.70 GHz
Ram: 6 Gigs
Dolphin ver: 3.0-692-dirty
Good evening Ray,

Your PC looks pretty old. To emulate most GC/Wii games at a reasonable speed, you'll have to upgrade your whole PC.
Emulating games is especially taxing for the CPU, and if you also increase the graphical settings, it will also be pretty taxing for GPU's.
Therefore your CPU and GPU temperatures might be higher than when you´re playing PC games.

Could you monitor both your CPU and GPU temperatures with Realtemp(CPU) and GPU-Z(GPU)?
Have both programs running, play Megaman for a minute or so and report back with the maximum temperatures of both.

Ray_Slimelight

Realtemp said that it couldn't use the program due to my processor being unsupported. Though the GPU went up to 79.0C during gameplay.

So I take it that I really need to upgrade, huh? I know my graphics card will need to be, but what of other things?
The CPU... AMD Athlon is a weak CPU.

If you want to stay with AMD, get the Phenom II X4.

Otherwise: Get an Intel Core i5-2500k or 3750k.

Ray_Slimelight