Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Zelda SS - Skip EFB acess from CPU
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Well, hello everyone, I'm here to discuss about Zelda Skyward sword.
No, I'm not here to make questions about "how can I make dolphin run faster on my PC", I'm just here to know a little more about a problem.
Well, the thing is. I started playing Zelda Skyward sword, searched a little in the dolphin's wiki to know the best settings, etc etc. Then there is this option, "Skip EFB acess from CPU", which was being described as "If marked will cause problems while trying to aim correctly". Well, no big deal, let it unchecked and everything is fine.
But then I started playing. I have a somehow weak CPU, Core 2 Quad 2,6Ghz which the Intel shitty motherboard doesn't let me overclock, a very weak GPU, GeForce 9400 GT. Okay, I got 80% speed in open areas. I wasn't expecting a full speed from the start, since I was just testing, I'll buy a new CPU next month.
So, after playing a little, I decided change some options to see what I could do to make the game run a little faster. And after sometime I decided to see what could happen if I checked the "Skip EFB acess from CPU". My surprise was when the game went from 60% to full speed. Not only that, but the aim system was somehow okay which was strange. "Maybe I'm lucky", I thought.
Well, not exactly. The aim system is okay when you're just looking around, but when you're with some item like the slingshot Link will just fail to shoot where you're aiming.

So, the whole thing is, someone know what causes this error? Can it be fixed? I'll change my PC next month so I don't really care, but I would like to know a little more about it.

EDIT: Okay, explaing why I created this thread.
Look what happens when I try to shoot with "Skip EFB acess from CPU" checked:
http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/5572/...aidiot.png