Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Question about games being in HD...
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

SuzanoSho

Okay...first off, hi guys! I'm a little new to Dolphin (but not to emulating in general), and I have to say that this thing is pretty awesome all around...

The reason I made this post tonight however, is to settle a debate that me and my battle buddy were having a little earlier...he made a comment claiming that this emulator has the power to make Wii games (which, I thought, were developed sub-HD) high definition...

I, being the argumentative person that I am, immediately unleashed a full-on missile barrage of "Nuh-uhs" and z-snaps on his candy ass, under the belief that such a feat is impossible...so he tells me to look on here and see...

Sure enough, on the main website, it says so clear as day; "This emulator makes Wii game HD-ified!!!!!"...

So my question is, how is this even possible, considering that the games themselves aren't even HD? Or is it that they're being DISPLAYED in HD and not actually true high definition...
Where as I cannot answer your question in depth it DOES play in true HD (and beyond).
Most 3D games are made in so-called "polygon graphics". This means, you don't specify the *pixels* which shall be drawn on the screen, but *points* in a virtual 3D space, which are then "converted" into pixels depending on where the camera (usually your avatar, or so) is (this process is called "rendering").

Here's an example. This is a cube in points:
Code:
v 1 -1 -1
v 1 -1 1
v -1 -1 1
v -1 -1 -1
v 1 1 -1
v 1 1 1
v -1 1 1
v -1 1 -1