Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: RVL-CNT-01-TR (new Wiimote) attempted fix on Mac (Lion)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

dm44

Not sure who this might help or how to communicate with devs.

I'm a developer and looked into the problem with the new revision of the Wiimote. Looking at the Windows change to support it, it looked like it was just an issue identifying the wiimote. So I made changes to Source/Core/Core/Src/HW/WiimoteReal/IODarwin.mm first to dump information from the wiimote, then modify it to find it.

The previous revision wiimotes report themselves as kBluetoothDeviceClassMinorPeripheral2Joystick (1), where as the new wiimote reports itself as kBluetoothDeviceClassMinorPeripheral2Gamepad (2).

So I changed the code to look for minor code 2.

It does connect, but then disconnects in a couple of seconds before you can do anything with the wiimote. The buzzer does not get activated. I don't know how its supposed to look with Mac Lion's bluetooth setup. I removed the wiimote from known bluetooth devices, used Dolphin to find the device. As soon as it connects, it shows up in bluetooth preferences showing connected. I don't know if this is a problem, if possibly Lion is communicating with the wiimote or if the protocol has changed.
I had assumed the protocol must have stayed the same if its working with Windows with the minor fix.

Is there information available somewhere about how to sniff the communication with the Wiimote? How do folks go about figuring out how to communicate with it?

I googled and found out that XCode on Mac includes a packet logger for bluetooth. I may give that a try tomorrow.

dm44

(01-13-2012, 11:52 PM)ExtremeDude2 Wrote: [ -> ]Have you seen this thread?

http://forums.dolphin-emu.org/showthread.php?tid=19948

Yes, I have seen that thread. I have one of the last posts asking about a fix for Mac.