Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Building a system, how am I doing?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

beatnik

Hi there! I'm a complete and utter newb when it comes to computer specs and understanding what will work and what just isn't kosher.

I'm hoping to build a new system with one of it's main purposes being for gaming (Skyrim's just a few days away!), and Dolphin has been something I've had an interest in trying for some time now. Unfortunately, my current system can't handle it at any FPS above, like, 15.

My question is, oh gracious Support forumites, can this new system handle Dolphin emulation? Say I'm hoping for stuff like Brawl, Mario Galaxy 2, and (dare I dream) Skyward Sword to run well. If not in that awesome up-scaling mode, I'd be very very happy with fullscreen and fullspeed.

Any tips or bashings I need over this system?

Processor
(Intel Core i5 2400 Quad Core Processor with Motherboard)
Operating System
(Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, 64-Bit Edition)
Memory
(4 x 2GB = 8GB DDR3-1333 Gaming Grade Memory Module)
Hard Drive
(2TB 7200RPM Hard Disk Drive)
Graphics Card
(NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 1GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Video Card)
Optical Drive
(24X DVD+/-RW DL Optical Drive)
Other Accessories
(12-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader)
Monitors
(ViewSonic 24" 1080p LCD Widescreen Monitor, (VA2431WM))

Many thanks to anyone who can lend a helping word or several!
Should be fine in most cases. Just keep in mind no matter what system you have there will always be issues and no game runs perfect. As far as Skyward Sword goes, I have a feeling it will work fine but no one has any idea what the speed will be.
I assume you're using newegg and in america? What's your budget?

HDD: What brand? What model?
Graphics card: What board manufacter? What model?
Power supply: You didn't list it.
Chassis: You didn't list it.