Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: First Impression Performance Explanations and Questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello, i am new to Dolphin, using latest release, and like almost everyone i am experiencing to get the better performance possible my computer can handle. I started experiencing in Mario Kart Wii and compered the race cronometer to a real cronometer to check for emulation slowdowns also using the "show fps" option to get an FPS average. After the fisrt 2-3 hours of testing here are my conclusion and doubts/questions (my specs are on my signature, am leaving the questions highlighted):

- Enhancements on AA and internal render resolution would reduce FPS but look a lot better, no enhancements and 1x internal render resolution makes the image bad but the FPS 60 and emulation speed correct.

- The gain with 1 level AA (0 to 4x) OR one step at internal resolution (1x to 1.5x) is great, using one step of each seemed even better but with less gain than the previous change, further improvements were smaller.

- Curiosity: the reduction in FPS came with a slow down in emulation speed. Anyone knows why?

- Conclusion: found that 1.5x internal render resolution and 4x AA looks great, anisotropic seemed to make no difference in Mario Kart. Performance (FPS and emulation speed) around 60% tough. Started feeling bad since read lost people with worse specs doing better.

SOLUTION: Turn off "RAM" option at EFB, under Graphics at 3.0. Now the game with enhancements runs great, got 2x internal render resolution and 4xAA without problems.

- Curiosity, experience further, now with RAM option unchecked when i increased the enhancementes (AA and internal resolution) the emulation speed would stay OK and only the FPS would drop.