Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Does Dolphin run well on linux? (Ubuntu)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
I'm downloading ubuntu 8.10 64-bit now for use on my D-drive, will Dolphin run much faster than Vista 32-bit you think? I have no experience with linux at all, lol. Is it anything at all like windows?
Specs: Core2Duo E8400 3,0 Ghz; 4Gb RAM; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260; WinVista 32 Bit, 2x 465 GB hard drives
i have fedora linux with dolphin. it is about 20% slower for me :/ i have both vista and xp, they are about the same. the real factors are cpu and graphic card and memory dependant.
Running through Wine will help.
it doesn't run, nosound :/ wine won't run anything well that requires directx runtimes.
Hm slower is not good :/ What your specs lanny? Anyway since I'm going up to 64-bit and can use all 4GB ram I hope to at least gain some... if it's not helping for dolphin at least I'll get some experience with it.
i have 2 units almost the same spec at winxp pro and linux fedora9. it is running slower under linux.
(03-29-2009, 01:59 AM)lannyboy Wrote: [ -> ]it doesn't run, nosound :/ wine won't run anything well that requires directx runtimes.

Thanks for complaining. I just know that wine runs Windows programs. But I saw people with Wine playing Dolphin Huh
no suprise the dolphin window will popup. but it'll never run any game.
(03-29-2009, 02:01 AM)nosound97 Wrote: [ -> ]
(03-29-2009, 01:59 AM)lannyboy Wrote: [ -> ]it doesn't run, nosound :/ wine won't run anything well that requires directx runtimes.

Thanks for complaining. I just know that wine runs Windows programs. But I saw people with Wine playing Dolphin Huh

on my linux box (opensuse 64 bit with kernel recompiled at 1000 Hz plus latest wine) dolphin works quite well under wine