Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Questions regarding upgrading graphics card.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
(Too long; didn't read? Look at bottom of post)
Hey guys,

First things first, it is better for me to say this: I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to hardware stuffs, so please treat me like how you would treat idiots or stupid people.

Now back to the topic: I'm currently using a Dell Inspiron 580 that's prebuilt with an Intel Core i5 (i5-650 @ 3.2 GHz) and an nVidia GeForce 310. I'm not very satisfied with the latter, so I'm planning to upgrade the thing with a GeForce GTX 550 Ti, a not-so-bad graphics card in my opinion (and not-so-expensive, too).

My question is that, based from what I've read (and luckily understood), will I need to upgrade my PSU as well? The PSU that comes with the Dell Inspiron 580 is quite a cheap one; it doesn't even have supplementary power connections (the 550 Ti needs the PCI-e 6-pin one), but which PSU am I going to get?

I've used some PSU watts calculators on the Internet, and I think I'm going to need a 600-watt PSU or so in order to power the graphics card. From which PSU brand should I get though? Just asking for clarification, because I've seen cases where people got their motherboards fried when their PSUs failed, and obviously I don't want mine to end up that way too.

Again, I'm an idiot and a know-nothing. Please have mercy.

Thanks in advance.

P/S: If you think my graphics card choice is poor and stupid, please do suggest me another one. I'm only looking for good performance and graphics without much hassle and money.