Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: GC: Twilight Princess Severe Slowdown
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

tails697

Hi. I am new to Dolphin and its forums but I have used emulators before and am fairly experienced with computers in general.

I have tried to run Twilight Princess for gamecube and even with performance configuration and all the setting recommended on the wiki I can't get more than 15 fps (in small areas, bigger areas drops to about 9fps.) using Direct3D9 even in native resolution. Even menus max at 25 fps! OpenGL has slightly better performance maybe 5fps more.

The thing is my computer is more than capable of running Dolphin:

Intel Quad Q8300 @2.5Ghz
6GB RAM
Radeon HD5770
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

So I can't figure for the life of me why the performance is so bad with this game. I will try another game asap to see if I have more problems.
tell us your settings
(06-03-2011, 08:57 PM)tails697 Wrote: [ -> ]Hi. I am new to Dolphin and its forums but I have used emulators before and am fairly experienced with computers in general.

I have tried to run Twilight Princess for gamecube and even with performance configuration and all the setting recommended on the wiki I can't get more than 15 fps (in small areas, bigger areas drops to about 9fps.) using Direct3D9 even in native resolution. Even menus max at 25 fps! OpenGL has slightly better performance maybe 5fps more.

The thing is my computer is more than capable of running Dolphin:

Intel Quad Q8300 @2.5Ghz
6GB RAM
Radeon HD5770
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

So I can't figure for the life of me why the performance is so bad with this game. I will try another game asap to see if I have more problems.

Well with a 2.5ghz processor you will not be running much at full speeds. You should be getting higher then you are though.