Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Dolphin upscales FMV?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
The game I test is Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition. I must admit that I download it, but for testing purpose only. I have the PS2 version of that game, and already complete it on both my PS2 and PCSX2. There's no reason to pirate a game I already played. Anyway, I am a programmer, and I have a technical question 'bout this game's full motion videos (FMV).

All the cutscenes in this game are pre-rendered FMVs (or cinematics as Blizzard oftens calls it). I know it, because in the PC version, there is a folder that contains all FMVs in the game. These videos are in mpg format and can be play on any player outside the game. Using PCSX2, I can play this game on my PC at a arbitrary resolution, except for the cutscenes. The cutscenes are all pre-rendered, so they cannot be upscaled. The same thing for PC version: no matter what resolution is set, the FMV is still low definition (PC version is heavily criticized for that). But in Dolphin, I can see the FMVs run at a very high resolution, depending on the resulution I set in the graphics options. I even think of anti-aliasing. But as far as I know AA can only be applied to something which is rendered on-the-fly, not these pre-render things. So, how can Dolphin do that?
I actually think the GC/Wii versions of Resident Evil 4 don't use prerendered cutscenes.
(05-29-2011, 02:01 PM)Livy Wrote: [ -> ]So, how can Dolphin do that?

Because it is awesome!Big Grin
(05-29-2011, 02:10 PM)Toad King Wrote: [ -> ]I actually think the GC/Wii versions of Resident Evil 4 don't use prerendered cutscenes.