Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Nintendo WFC online Emulation
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I understand that currently it is impossible to use Nintendo WFC as you cannot connect to the Nintendo servers. However I'd like to know what holds this back. I know of netplay and such, but I really, ah whatever, I have no friends, plain and simple.

What is the reason that the emulator cannot contact the Nintendo servers and play online other than that the coding doesn't exist? I would think that all you'd need to do is give the emulator an Internet Protocol and Internet access. I have no clue how to do that. Although I am a programmer, and the only thing I could think of in that sense would be to setup a server that the emulator connects to and have it forward to or mirror the Nintendo servers. That doesn't sound particularly hard to me. If the problem is with the Nintendo servers only respond to actual consoles, it's not that hard to backup a NAND for the Wii, I don't know about a bios though. I would think that if you had those it'd be pretty easy to bypass a Nintendo safeguard that prevents non real Wii consoles to be used on their servers. I'm just interested in this, it'd be cool if it one day did work.
Not heard anything of it being impossible, more like no one interested in doing it (anyone could implement it if they wanted to). I guess it's just to much work for people to consider it worth the trouble.

It was done with desmume, and worked (until Nintendo blocked it)