Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Mac version - Very high CPU usage
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

clauderains

Hello everybody!

I'm quite new to Dolphin emulation. When I'm running Dolphin build 7440 for Mac OS X it works but the CPU is going nuts. In Activity Monitor (the OS X utility) I can see Dolphin uses more than 100% of the CPU - sometime around 140% (how is that even possible?) and the fans speeds up. The graphics in Dolphin works smooth but could this overheat my computer (or be harmful in any other way)? Is my computer just too old and slow?

I have a MacBook Pro from early 2008:
2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT (256 MB)
Mac OS X 10.6.6 Snow Leopard
In my example I've tried Resident Evil (remake)

What kind of Mac will I need then? I guess a brand new Mac Mini will not be enough as they still make use of Intel Core 2 Duo? A MacBook with Core i5? A MacBook Pro with Core i7?

Any input is greatly appreciated. Smile
Hmm... well you asked for it so here's my input.

The truth is you don't want to have a Mac for playing games, they're not good at all.
Seriously you won't get top performance in games with a Mac, Macs of any kind belong in advertising bureaus and should be kept away as far from games as possible.
I'm surprised that they even have made games for Mac to belong with, I'm even more surprised that there isn't a law to forbids such profanity.

It doesn't matter if you get a new one, performance on it will be bad anyway.

A Mac is a Mac, that label can never be washed away.
I have a 27" i7 iMac with Bootcamp and Windows 7 and it beats my P.C of a similar spec hands down. While I use the Windows side for games, for Dolphin the Mac version runs way better than the Windows build. I get nearly 100% for all games at 720 or 1080p, the only ones that struggle are Mario Galaxy 1 and 2.