Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Newbie system requirements question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

ChronoCupcake

Hey guys im new to the dolphin scene and im pretty unknowledgeable about how it all works, and whilst I appreciate that I could spend some time searching through the internet to find the answers im looking for itd take me hours and i just thought itd be easier to ask here im sorry if you think thats me being lazy.
Basically the system requirements section on the site was terribly vague, and im really not sure if Ill be able to run gamecube or wii games.
currently my computer is running with

an Nvida 9500gt graphics card
2gb DDR2 ram
an intel dual core 4600 processor running at 2.4ghz a processor
and finally a 450 watt power supply.

Would i be able to run wii and gamecube games with this ?, or just gamecube or nothing at all ?. If so what settings would be optimal ? and what kind of a rig would I need to play everything cranked up to 10 with 1080p support and what not. My apologies if this is a commonly asked question, and thanks for any input Tongue.
Your system will run Dolphin, and you'll have decent speed in some games. Others will be too slow to be playable. You will have to do some reading to get your settings optimized though. Start with the Complete Dolphin Setup Guide.

http://forums.dolphin-emu.org/showthread.php?tid=3533

Then check in the thread of the game you want to play for more specific settings. Faster computers will be able to play more games. A computer that will play every game at fullspeed should be available around 2016 or so.
Quote:Basically the system requirements section on the site was terribly vague, and im really not sure if Ill be able to run gamecube or wii games.