Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: A temporary fix for the LLE plugin
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello, everyone.

While I am not a programmer myself, I do know that the LLE plugin is faulty - and researching the forums, I noticed there is some unofficial effort to fix it. Since it is so complex, I propose the following workaround: a music customization plugin.

How would that work? Basically, you would implement a plugin that would read mp3 files (compression with loss of quality) or flac (compression without loss of quality). Then, you would get the soundtrack you want and replace it with your favorite one.

Why do I know this is viable? As I mentioned, it is done on the Xbox. Also, Gens has the following problem: when playing SegaCD games, it won't be able to play the music, so they implemented this functionality within the emulator. I have the original Sonic CD here, but the media is scratched, so I downloaded a copy and downloaded the soundtrack. It worked almost perfectly.

There are a few advantages to this:

a. Emulation would get much faster, as you would only need something to reproduce the tracks, not to emulate completely the way the game plays songs.
b. It would temporarily fix many games and make many people happy.

Now, there are only two problems to this approach that would need some addressing:

a. How to map each soundtrack to the correct place in the game? Ex: map a certain village to an specific soundtrack.
b. Ensure that the tracks will play looping, as they do in the original games.

What do you think of this temporary approach? I personally think it would be a temporary relief for many games out there, as I stated before, and it would give you time to implement the LLE plugin properly.
Something like this has been talked about before and done before, it's better to fix the DSP LLE plugin.