Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Quad core support for Dolphin
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Sorry if this a a frequently discussed topic but I'm somewhat new to Dolphin.

Does the Dolphin development team plan to implement support for quad cores in the future ? Technically speaking , is it possible ? And how much would it improve in terms of fps and stability ?

Thanks in advance and sorry for my crappy english Big GrinBig Grin
short answer: no
long answer: well, who knows what the future brings, but I don't think any dev want to end up in a nuthouse.
long answer: no, sort of, and it wouldn't.
short answer: hell no!
Possible, but only for speeding up the dog-slow software renderer.
I get it. But I still don't know why exactly , is there any thread dedicated to this topic?

and thanks Big Grin
it has been discussed (requested...) many times, particularly over the past year or so. just search the forums. the gist of it seems to be that introducing more threads is neither feasible nor is it really necessary. the current builds are fast enough in the main, and are improving all the time and at a decent pace too. you simply need fast enough hardware (which is also improving all the time) and you're set. basically, the dev's know what they're doing, and quad core support simply isn't going to happen.
Maybe not quad. Tri would be nice. I'd like to leave 1 core opened for my system to live on. Honestly, everyone should have a quad core by now. Coming as cheap as 100 bucks, I'm poor as hell and I managed to get one in a budget desktop build.
same thing that applies to four cores applies to three. it simply isn't needed. the only way dolphin'll use more than two cores is if dsp-lle is ever in a sufficient usable state that it warrants putting on its own thread.