Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Would a powerbook with powerpc g4 cpu emulate easier?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi,

this is a question to the developers. I'm a quite competent programmer and getting interested in emulation. So basically, since the cpu architecture is the same wouldn't you only have to emulate the I\O and gpu?
That would defeat the purpose of the emulator. Nobody uses G4 anymore.
(06-23-2010, 07:14 AM)NaturalViolence Wrote: [ -> ]That would defeat the purpose of the emulator. Nobody uses G4 anymore.

Well that's a weird answer, so according to you there's no point developing emulators to less used platforms?

Why I'm asking is because I might get my hands on an old powerbook 1.5 GHz G4 and I am interested in emulation. I'm thinking of starting of emulating just the NES CPU and then go from there. This is just out of curiosity.
No, but it's a lot of work for practically zero benefit (little to no userbase).
An old 1.5ghz ppc g4 very likely can't handle the amount of floating point math per second and output & reading graphics card/random memory data like the ppc cpu inside the wii/gc.

Also, it uses an entirely different, IBM proprietary instruction set for cpu commands. Dolphin currently needs at least SSE2 to operate.
So dolphin can't be even used or compiled on Mac OS X if you don't have an AMD or intel cpu.

If you'd want to run dolphin on a computer with a PPC cpu, you would literally have to code everything from scratch. I don't think any coder is willing to take part in such a massive project just for maybe a dozen potential users. Dolphin is made for the x86 platform.